ECARES collaborates with CORE (the Center for Operations Research and Econometrics of the Université catholique de Louvain) and the department of economics of the KU Leuven, with which it has created a common center of excellence, ECORES, integrating the research activities and doctoral programs of the three institutions.

The Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) was founded in 1983 to enhance the quality of economic policy-making within Europe and beyond, by fostering high quality, policy-relevant economic research, and disseminating it widely to decision-makers in the public and private sectors. Today, CEPR’s network of Research Fellows and Affiliates includes over 1,000 of the top economists conducting research on issues affecting the European economy. Researchers are based in their home institutions (universities, research institutes, central bank research departments, and international organisations), and collaborate through the centre in the pursuit of policy-relevant economic research and dissemination activities.

CEPR organises approximately 80 meetings a year, and produces over 700 discussion papers, reports and books. The headquarters of CEPR are based in London and until now London was also the main place to organise the meetings. From 2019 onwards, CEPR will organise together with ECARES several dissemination meetings in Brussels.

ECARES and the Université libre de Bruxelles are part of the European Doctoral Program network ENTER, which consists of leading European economics departments aiming to foster (internationally competitive) research at the highest possible level.
This network allows the students to do part of their PhD at one of our partner universities: Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona, University College London, Universität Mannheim, Tilburg University, Stockholm University, Stockholm School of Economics, Université Toulouse 1 Sciences Sociales, and Universidad Carlos III de Madrid.
Students may participate in the ENTER network during the Master and/or during the thesis writing phase. In the former, students have to spend the entire second year in one of the partner universities (only at Carlos III, Mannheim, University of Stockholm, Toulouse). In the former, students have to spend the entire second year in one of the partner universities. In the later, student have to spend at least 6 months at one of the other universities of the network.

In details, the ENTER network offers:

  • 1-year exchange for students in the Master in Quantitative Economics (ECON4R)
  • Exchanges for PhD students in Economics
  • Seminar exchanges for PhD students in Economics
  • Annual Jamboree for PhD students in Economics

For more information, please contact Professor Philip Verwimp, or visit the ENTER website

IWABE, which stands for Individual Welfare Analysis based on Behavioral Economics, is an EOS funded programme, which promotes joint research between researchers in the Flemish and French-speaking community in Belgium. It is a continuation of the MEqIn project which was funded by BELSPO.